Winter in the Bregenzerwald

The Bregenzerwald is a winter sports destination for discerning guests. Lively, enjoyable and pleasantly relaxing, the region exudes an atmosphere of unassuming confidence and quiet individuality. Top quality and good planning are things we take for granted here in the Bregenzerwald.

Summit cable car Mellau-Damüls

Mellau-Damüls ski area

With a selection of sunny south-facing slopes, an excellent snow record and north-facing ski pistes offering excellent conditions right through until springtime, the joint natural assets of Damüls and Mellau make a formidable combination. Spread around the centrally located Mittagsspitze, this varied and snow-filled ski arena offers guests 109 kilometres of pistes. The new 10-man gondola with its newly renovated valley complex at the bottom station in Mellau, provides a pleasant start to your skiing experience.

www.damuels-mellau.at

3 Valleys ski pass

The 3 Valleys ski pass is valid for a total of 36 ski areas, as well as offering a free and comfortable bus service to the ski field. Available tickets include: standard ski passes for durations ranging from 2 ½ to 21 days; non-consecutive passes for durations of 2, 5 and 8 days, and season tickets.

www.3taeler.at       

Off-piste skier Mellau-Damüls
Mountain panorama Diedamskopf

Diedamskopf Au-Schoppernau ski area

The Au-Schoppernau ski area is situated on the Diedamskopf, at an altitude of 2,090 m. From this plateau the breathtaking panorama takes in more than 300 mountain peaks, with views which extend as far as Lake Constance and, on a clear day, the Minster in Ulm.

www.diedamskopf.at

Ski school

Professional attention from the very first turn

Mellau ski and snowboard school and the snow sports school in Au-Schoppernau both offer courses for beginners as well as for intermediate and advanced pupils. Au-Schoppernau was awarded the Innovation Prize by Vorarlberg Tourism for its imaginative children's programme. In "Didiland" children's first experiences on skis go hand in hand with fun and games.

www.skischule-schoppernau.at

Mellau ski and snowboard school goes to great lengths to appeal to children - even the very tiniest. Motivated children's instructors and amusing tuition programmes ensure speedy and enjoyable learning. The school also offers a weekend babysitting service for toddlers, and children's ski courses with midday supervision.

www.skischule-mellau.at

Skiing off-piste
Summit cable car

Ski bus

A relaxed day's skiing right from the word go!

The number 34 ski bus offers the perfect connecting service between Bizau, Mellau cable cars and the Bezau chairlift. The winter timetable is valid from December until April. With 6 direct daily services, you can avoid tedious sessions scraping ice off windscreens, and time wasted looking for a parking space in the ski area of your choice. Any skiers or snowboarders in possession of the 3 Valleys lift pass are entitled to free use of the number 34 bus.

Cross-country skiing

Where fresh air is in plentiful supply

Cross-country skiing involves the use of more muscles than almost any other type of sport, and as a result its benefits are well known and widely accepted. Indulge in some Nordic Cruising to admire the beauties of nature; be ambitious and try your hand at classical cross-country, or do the trendy thing and show off your Skating Technique abilities.

The cross-country ski track runs right past Gasthof Taube, with the entry point situated very close to the hotel. The beautiful sunny countryside around Bizau offers approx. 8.5 km of cross-country skiing and skating tracks.If you take the cross-country networks in the neighbouring villages of Reuthe and Bezau into consideration, you have a total of nearly 23 km of pure cross-country fun!

Cross-country ski tracks on the interactive map

Cross-country skiing in Schönenbach
Winter walking in the Bregenzerwald

Winter walking

Where paths are marked in pink

Even for non-skiers there are countless ways to enjoy the glories of winter. Bizau offers visitors some 50km of well-prepared walking tracks, all clearly and uniformly marked with pink signboards.

The WITUS villages of Bizau, Bezau, Mellau, Reuthe and Schnepfau offer visitors  a total of  over 47 km of cross-country ski tracks and 80 km of winter footpaths - all easily accessible thanks to the number 34 ski bus!

Winter walking on the interactive map

Ski touring

Make new tracks

Although there was once a ski field in Bizau, the Hirschberg is popular nowadays with ski tourers, off-piste skiers and snow shoe walkers. The mountain's highest point lies at approx. 1,660 m altitude, involving a climb of some 870 metres from the starting point beside the bottom station of the former Hirschberg cable car. It's the perfect place to make new tracks into the pristine natural surroundings.

Guided tours

Gerhard Feuerstein from Bizau, a nationally qualified ski tour guide, organises guided ski tours in the Bregenzerwald. Registrations should be made at least one day in advance.

Information/registration: Tel. +43 664 4623933

Portlerhorn
Snow shoe walking

Snow shoe walking

In step with nature

Walking and mountain guide Konrad Feurstein will take you on a snow shoe tour through Bizau's wonderful winter countryside. The meeting point is always on Monday in the village square at 13.30. The tour is free, and lasts about three hours.  

Ski hire

Where to hire your equipment on the spot

Whether you are looking for skis, snowboards, ski boots or other footwear, poles, cross-country equipment or snow shoes, Sport Bertsch in Bizau is sure to have exactly what you need to ensure a perfect day in the snow.

Opening times in winter:

Monday to Friday: 8.30 to 12.00 and 14.30 to 18.30
Saturday: 8.30 to 12.00 and 14.30 to 17.00
Sunday: 9.30 to 12.00 and 16.30 to 18.00

Contact: Tel. +43 5514 4127

Well equipped

Winter im Bregenzerwald

Der Bregenzerwald ist eine Winterregion für Feinsinnige. Lebendig fröhlich und wohltuend beschaulich zugleich, selbstbewusst und auf angenehm wahrnehmbare Weise geerdet. Qualitätvolles und Durchdachtes zu bieten, ist Teil des Selbstverständnisses der Bregenzerwälder.

Gipfelbahn Mellau-Damüls

Skigebiet Mellau-Damüls

Damüls und Mellau ergänzen sich von ihren natürlichen Voraussetzungen her optimal. Sonnenbeschienene Südhänge, beste Pistenverhältnisse bis ins Frühjahr bei den Nordabfahrten und noch dazu reichlich Schnee. 109 Pistenkilometer rund um die zentral gelegene Mittagsspitze erwarten die Gäste im schnee- und variantenreichen Skigebiet. Die neue 10er Gondelbahn mit einem ebenfalls neu errichteten Talstationsbereich in Mellau bietet einen attraktiven Einstieg ins Skivergnügen.

www.damuels-mellau.at

3-Täler-Skipass

Der 3-Täler-Skipass gilt für insgesamt 36 Skigebiete und ermöglicht eine kostenlose und bequeme Fahrt per Skibus ins Skigebiet. Zur Wahl stehen Skipässe für 2 ½ bis 21 Tage, Wahlabos für 2, 5 und 8 Tage sowie Saisonkarten.

www.3taeler.at       

Tiefschneeefahrer Mellau-Damüls
Panoramaberg Diedamskopf

Skigebiet Diedamskopf Au-Schoppernau

Das Skigebiet von Au-Schoppernau liegt auf dem 2.090 m hohen Diedamskopf. Vom Hochplateau genießt man einen atemberaubenden Blick auf über 300 Berggipfel, den Bodensee und an guten Tagen bis zum Ulmer Münster.

www.diedamskopf.at

Skischule

Wo die ersten Schwünge professionell betreut werden

Die Ski- und Snowboardschule Mellau und die Schneesportschule Au-Schoppernau veranstalten Kurse für Anfänger, Fortgeschrittene und Könner.
Für ihr engagiertes Kinderprogramm erhielt die Schneesportschule Au-Schoppernau den Innovationspreis von Vorarlberg Tourismus. Im „Didiland“ lernen Kinder spielerisch die ersten Schritte auf Skiern.

www.skischule-schoppernau.at

Die Ski- und Snowboardschule Mellau ist sehr um die Kleinen und Kleinsten bemüht. Ambitionierte Kinderskilehrer und unterhaltsame Programme garantieren den Lernerfolg, angeboten wird auch eine Kleinkinderbetreuung am Wochenende und Kinderskikurse mit Mittagsbetreuung.

www.skischule-mellau.at

Variantenskifahren
Gipfelbahn

Skibus

Wo der Einstieg ins Skigebiet entspannt erfolgt

Der Skibus der Linie 34 bietet Ihnen einen perfekten Transfer zwischen Bizau und den Bergbahnen Mellau sowie der Seilbahn Bezau. Der Winterfahrplan gilt von Dezember bis April und ermöglicht 6x am Tag eine Fahrt ohne Umsteigen, ohne langem Eiskratzen und lästiger Parkplatzsuche direkt in Ihr gewähltes Skigebiet. Skifahrer und Snowboarder, die mit dem 3-Täler-Skipass die Linie 34 nützen, fahren gratis.

 

Langlaufen

Wo´s frische Luft in Hülle und Fülle gibt

Beim Langlaufen werden so viele Muskeln wie in kaum einer anderen Sportart aktiviert, dabei sind die Facetten des Langlaufsports breit gefächert: Die Natur genießen beim Nordic Cruisen, ambitioniert sporteln im klassischen Langlauf und sich trendig bewegen in der Skating-Technik.

Die Loipe führt direkt am Gasthof Taube vorbei, der Einstieg befindet sich angrenzend zum Haus. In Bizau stehen ca. 8,5 km Langlauf- und Skatingloipen in herrlicher und sonniger Landschaft zur Verfügung, in Verbindung mit dem Loipennetz der Nachbargemeinden Reuthe und Bezau insgesamt fast 23 km Langlaufvergnügen!

Langlaufloipen auf der interaktiven Karte

Langlaufen in Schönenbach
Winterwandern im Bregenzerwald

Winterwandern

Wo pink den Weg markiert

Auch abseits von Pisten gibt es zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, den Winter in all seiner Pracht zu genießen. Insgesamt stehen Ihnen in Bizau über 50 km gut präparierte Wanderwege zur Verfügung, die alle einheitlich und gut sichtbar mit pinken Tafeln markiert sind.

In den WITUS Gemeinden Bizau, Bezau, Mellau, Reuthe und Schnepfau stehen Ihnen insgesamt über 47 km Langlaufloipen und 80 km Winterwanderwege zur Verfügung - alle bequem mit der Buslinie 34 erreichbar!

Winterwanderrouten auf der interaktiven Karte

Skitouren

Wo man Spuren ziehen kann

Früher gab es noch ein Skigebiet in Bizau, mittlerweile ist der Hirschberg bei Tourengehern, Variantenskifahrern und Schneeschuhwanderern sehr beliebt. Der höchste Punkt des Hirschbergs liegt auf ca. 1.660 m, vom Ausgangspunkt an der ehemaligen Talstation der Hirschbergbahn sind 870 Höhenmeter zu bewältigen. Der ideale Berg, um in unberührter Natur seine Spuren zu ziehen.

Geführte Touren

Gerhard Feuerstein aus Bizau ist staatlich geprüfter Skitourenführer und bietet geführte Skitouren im Bregenzerwald an. Anmeldungen sollten mindestens einen Tag vor der Tour erfolgen.

Information/Anmeldung: T +43 664 4623933

Portlerhorn
Schneeschuhwandern

Schneeschuhwandern

Wo Schritt für Schritt Ruhe ist

Wander- und Bergführer Konrad Feurstein begleitet Sie gerne zu einer Schneeschuhtour durch die herrliche Winterlandschaft in Bizau. Treffpunkt ist immer montags beim Dorfplatz um 13:30 Uhr. Die Wanderung ist kostenlos und dauert etwa drei Stunden.

Skiverleih

Wo vor Ort ausgeliehen werden kann

Egal ob Ski, Snowboard, Skischuhe, Boots, Stöcke, Langlaufausrüstung oder Schneeschuhe. Sport Bertsch in Bizau hat die passende Ausrüstung für einen perfekten Wintersporttag parat.

Öffnungszeiten im Winter:

Montag bis Freitag: 8:30 bis 12 Uhr und 14:30 bis 18:30 Uhr
Samstag: 8:30 bis 12 Uhr und 14:30 bis 17 Uhr
Sonntag: 9:30 bis 12 Uhr und 16:30 bis 18 Uhr

Kontakt: T +43 5514 4127

Gut ausgerüstet